BCA's 2005 Scholarship Winners!

Baptist Communicators Association’s scholarship committee announced the winners of its scholarship program on February 7, 2005, in Nashville during the association’s executive board meeting.

Presented scholarships were: Stephen Lee, University of Louisville; Daryle Christopher Turner, Austin Peay State University in Clarksville, Tenn., and Hae Yun Park, Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Fort Worth, Texas.

Applicants must have at least a 2.5 GPA and have vocational aspirations in religious communications. Funds may be used for tuition, books, housing or food and are forwarded to the institution in which the student is enrolled.

Lee, a sophomore from Cecilia, Ky., received the $1,000 Al Shackleford and Dan Martin Undergraduate Scholarship. Lee said he’d like to use his degrees in English and anthropology in a career as an international missionary. He served during the summer of 2004 as an English teacher in East Asia for the International Mission Board.

Turner was awarded the $500 Shackleford-Martin scholarship designated for graduate students. Turner is a graduate of Ouchita Baptist University and Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary. He currently works as the media relations manager at LifeWay Christian Resources in Nashville. Turner’s past communications experience includes a stint as an overseas correspondent for the International Missions Board in Panama and as sports editor at The Millington Star in Tennessee.

Hae Yun Park won the $1,000 Bob Stanley and Al Compton Minority and International Scholarship. The Compton-Stanley scholarship seeks to aid minority and international students who are pursuing communications degrees. Park is currently studying religious communications at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary. Formerly, she was an art teacher and president of Blue Fish Design in Seoul, Korea. In her scholarship application, Park listed her future communications goal as the launching of a religiously-based internet site for children and youth.

Each of the winners expressed a deep appreciation to the organization for sponsoring such a program. The scholarship committee is comprised of Stella Prather, Arkansas Baptist News; Deanne Carter, Florida Baptist Convention; Erin Curry, Baptist Press; and J.K. Edwards, South Carolina Baptist Convention;

BCA began in 1953 as a professional development group for Baptist communication professionals. Its scholarship program was later introduced in 1988. Currently, the association boasts a membership of over 300 Baptist communicators in such varied careers as videographers, graphic designers, public relations professionals, writers, editors and photographers.

For further information about how to obtain scholarship materials for the 2006-2007 school year call (615) 904-0152 or email <bca.office@comcast.net>.


2004, Baptist Communicators Association